For Commuters
For Employers
Events Calendar
a division of:
Bethesda Bicycle Spirit Award
In conjunction with the regional Bike to Work Day, Bethesda Transportation Solutions sponsors the Bicycle Commuter Spirit Awards. The awards recognize downtown Bethesda employees who are dedicated to biking to work.

To nominate someone or yourself for a 2013 Bike Spirit Award, click here.

For more information, contact Jennifer Zucker at (301) 656-0686 ext. 118 or JZucker@bethesda.org.
2012 Winners
Steve Romanoff

Steve Romanoff, who works at DAI here in downtown Bethesda, says that he has been an avid biker since he was a kid and that “Sometimes, even today, I feel like I’m 12 in my mind when I bike – swoosh!” He currently bikes from Rockville to Bethesda. He has been attending Bike to Work Day in Bethesda since 2004. He is proud that he has instilled his love of biking in his kids and grandkids.
Linda H. Starr

Linda Starr has been bike riding for 41 years. Bike riding is her preferred mode of transportation. She has been commuting by bike from her home in Bethesda to downtown Bethesda for seven and a half years. Her daily commute is about 3.6 miles. She rides in most weather conditions; but takes the bus when it is snowing. She is thankful to Montgomery County for maintaining the roads and for adding bike lanes on Woodmont Avenue.
Past Honorees
2011 Winners
Most Committed Cyclist - Christofer Price
Longest Distance Commuted by Bike - Bruce Kraselsky
2007 Winner
Most Committed Cyclist – Charlie Andrews
2010 Winners
Most Committed Cyclist – Brian Barnes
Longest Distance Commuted By Bike – Christoph Mueller
2006 Winners
Most Committed Cyclist – Jim Cousins
Longest Distance Commuted by Bike – Paul Ryan
2009 Winners
Most Committed Cyclist – Jim Fulmer
Longest Distance Commuted By Bike – Jean-Luc
2005 Winners
Most Committed Cyclist – Lewellys Barker
Longest Distance Commuted by Bike – Mark Wolff
2008 Winners
Most Committed Cyclist – Ray Heinsman
Longest Distance Commuted by Bike – Rick Arrowsmith
2004 Winners
Most Committed Cyclist – Bob Dern
Longest Distance Commuted by Bike – Stanley Cousins

Uncle Sam
Bethesda Circulator